Sandile Zithulele Zungu, popularly known as “Majotha”, late last month made history when he scooped himself the Best Male Artist award during the South African Traditional Music Awards (SATMA).

The 12th Annual SATMA’s took place at Mmabatho Convention Centre in Bokone Bophirima on Saturday the 30th September 2017.

Whether you are a traditional music fan or not, it is well known that the SATMAs are a big deal – a Glamorous awards ceremony which is specifically held to honour our local traditional musical talent.

From Amageza Amahle scooping the Best Maskandi Album to Buselaphi getting Best Female Artist award, take a look at the artists who walked away with awards on the biggest night in SA traditional music:

  1. Best Male Artist/Group – Majotha
  2. Best Female Artist/Group – Buselaphi
  3. Best Afro Song – Bheki Nqoko
  4. Best African Jazz Song – Azah
  5. Best Reggae Album – Black Jaman
  6. Best Praise Singer – Jessica Mbangeni
  7. Best Poet – Magcwabe Imbongi
  8. Best Indigenous Comedian – Hallo M
  9. Best Newcomer Artist/Group – Ezendidane
  10. Best Traditional Dance Group – Dithaga tsa ga Mme Halenyane
  11. Best Mbaqanga Album – Sphamandla Masondo
  12. Best Accapella (Isicathamiya) Album – Thee Legacy
  13. Best Traditional Outfit – Zinhle Jikela
  14. Best Cultural Electronic Media Journatist – Zimkhitha Manqinana
  15. Best Cultural Print Media Journalist – Lulamile Feni
  16. Best Cultural Exhibitor – Rolia Marope
  17. Best Cultural Radio Program Loyal Listener – William Mahlangu
  18. Best Traditional DJ (Community Radio) – Siyaxola Sobantu
  19. Best Departent of Arts & Culture – Mpumalanga
  20. Best Sepedi Album – Seremi
  21. Best Tshivenda Album – Mazwale Volume 3
  22. Best Xitsonga Album – Sir Jambatani
  23. Best Isindebele Album – Mhlokonywa Kabungela
  24. Best IsiXhosa Album – 100% Ngcobela
  25. Best Setswana Album – Dinonyane Cultural Group
  26. Best Indian Album – Vernon Govender
  27. Best Sesotho Album – Haeso ha Ramatla No.3
  28. Best Boeremusiek – Die Ventertjies
  29. Best Traditional TV Program Show – Golden Circle
  30. Best Maskandi Album – Amageza Amahle
  31. Best Venarcular Hip Hop Song – Papzito
  32. Best Traditional Music Air-Play Radio Station of the Year – Ligwalagwala FM
  33. Best Traditional Music Radio Program of the Year – Lwesuka Lutfuli
  34. Lasting Legacy Awards – Mtshengiseni ‘Indidane’, Busi Mhlongo, Mqgumeni, Saba Mbixane, Oliver Tambo, Stompie Mavi
  35. Life Time Achievement Award – Thuso Motaung, Mzwakhe Madala Kunene, Shwi NoMtekhala,Jabulani “HHP” Tsambo, Mahotela Queens, Blondie Makhene, Sipho Hotstix Mabuse
  1. Special Award – Sthembiso “Mroza”Fakude
  2. Best Song of the Year – Izindlovukazi Zikamageba
  3. Best Traditional Radio Presenter of the year – Monwabisi Bangi ‘Gudla’

Judging by the few glitches that were experienced during this event, organisers of the event are already preparing for the 13th awards ceremony which is set to take place yet again at Bokone Bophirima.